Curtis Gadson – K.I.S.S. Y.O.U.

Don’t know much about Curtis Gadson.  I first heard this on the Robbie Vincent soul show on Radio 1 in 1987.  It’s a 12″ 33rpm mix on Proving Ground (Detroit) from 1987 but can’t find any other info.  Curiosly there is no catalogue number on the label although it appears to be PG-1002. He appears to hail from Detroit as all the recordings I have uncovered originate on independent Detroit based labels.
Further research shows that he co-wrote ‘Slow Dance’ with Ron Sanders & Roz Newberry performed by David Ruffin on his 1980 Gentleman Ruffin LP (further Detroit connections) which incidentally has Leon Ware and Ronnie McNeir on backing vocals on this and several other tracks. The killer ‘modern’ track from this album is the first track ‘I Wanna Be With You’ which perhaps I will feature (along with ‘Slow Dance’) in a future post.

Curtis Gadson (1987) - K.I.S.S. Y.O.U. (Proving Ground PG-1002)

Curtis Gadson (1987) - K.I.S.S. Y.O.U. (Proving Ground PG-1002)

Curtis Gadson [1987] – K.I.S.S. Y.O.U [Proving Ground]

A few other tracks by him include:

Curtis Gadson [] – Fired up [Saturday Night Music Machine UR 4224]

Curtis Gadson () - Fired Up (Saturday Night Music Machine UR-4224)

Curtis Gadson () - Fired Up (Saturday Night Music Machine UR-4224)

Curtis Gadson [] – In The Middle Of The Night [Midwest 8150] $12
Curtis Gadson [1989] – Can I Get A Witness / Listen To My Heartbeat [Chloe CLE 101]
1989 take on the H-D-H classic “Can I Get a witness” flipped with soul ballad “Listen To My Heartbeat” on Detroit indie label.

Curtis Gadson (1989) - Can I Get A Witness (Chloe CLE 101)

Curtis Gadson (1989) - Can I Get A Witness (Chloe CLE 101)

He also recorded as Curt Darin cutting Two On A Cloud / A Grown Up Fairy Tale on Buddah in 1976

Curtis Gadson (1976) - Two On A Cloud (Buddah 556)

Curtis Gadson (1976) - Two On A Cloud (Buddah 556)

Curtis Gadson (1976) - Grown Up Fairy Tale (Buddah 556)

Curtis Gadson (1976) - Grown Up Fairy Tale (Buddah 556)


8 Responses to “Curtis Gadson – K.I.S.S. Y.O.U.”

  1. hi
    love the curtis gadson track, could you please let have the password.
    They used to play this song on the Hotfm.
    Thanks
    Sam.

  2. I wonder if this is the same Curtis Gadson who ended up with BET?

    • SoulSpinner Says:

      Thanks for passing by! Can’t help I’m afraid … info is sparse … all I can deduce is that he recorded for several Detriot labels in the mid 80s.

  3. Curtis Gadson Says:

    Google curtis gadson and BET and you will find out more about me. These tracks were done a while ago. curtisgadson@yahoo.com

  4. sublissime post grazie

  5. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I came across this during my search for something relating to this.

Leave a Reply

